Thursday, December 18, 2008

The Gravel Pit Demo [1989]

Received this as a gift in 1990-91 from someone who did not like it and thought I might, and they were absolutely right. Awesome rock/pop with organ verging on punk and even psych at points. This tape has been played in every walkman and car stereo I have ever owned. They put out another demo tape after this called "The Shark Long Player" in 1992. I have that and might put it up here if I get around to it. Enjoy the early sounds of one of New England's finest.

1. Spindle (2:31)
2. The Interstate Of Mind (3:26)
3. See Emily Play (2:42)
4. The Egyptian Beach Song (4:42)
5. Hurt The Dog (2:30)
6. Focusing On One Specific Goal & Achieving It (3:02)
7. Stupidity (4:46)

Total Playing Time (23:40)

Download :

Friday, November 21, 2008

Or Rathol Nok [1995]

This here is the first and only demo from Or Rathol Nok featuring Mick Barr on guitar and vocals. He went on to play in Crom-Tech, Orthrelm, Ocrilim, The Flying Luttenbachers and now Krallice among many others. It came out in 1995 and he only made a handful that he handed out to friends and family (he's my cousin. don't tell anyone though, it's a secret) and also at that one show they played in Hamden in that warehouse attic space that had shows for maybe 6 months or so.

1. Eeennn (1:43)
2. Octobear (1:03)
3. Problems w/ Dapma the Darian (:36)
4. The T-12 Boxbox (1:52)
5. Kron Forn Mot Sweeg (1:29)

Total Playing Time (6:43)

Download :

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Get High [1996]

Get High was an excellent hardcore band from Massachusetts similar to Dag Nasty. They also shared the singer and drummer from the band Dive. This demo was self released and recorded and mixed by Brian McTernan at Salad Days on Dec 1st 1996.

1. Mayinga (2:15)
2. Until the Last Day (2:12)
3. Horror Stories (2:36)
4. Pandemonium Empire (1:43)
5. Magnetized (2:02)

Total Playing Time (10:49)

Download :

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

nineironspitfire [1995]

Comprised of several former members of Undertow. This demo is reminiscent of Undertow but far more discordant and noisy. Demian Johnston went on to play with Kiss It Goodbye and Playing Enemy after this and Mark Holcomb left shortly after recording this demo to play with Shift in NYC.

1. in the comfort of strangers (2:13)
2. charcoal drawings/weapon of choice (5:19)
3. one last wish (2:17)
4. far too familiar (2:00)

Total Playing Time (11:49)

Download :

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Kiss it Goodbye [1996]

Here we have the original demo tape from the late great Kiss it Goodbye. Still to this day probably the most intense live band I have ever seen. 3 of the 4 songs on here ended up on other releases. "Hartley" and "Manthing" were re-recorded for "She Loves Me.She, Loves Me Not" and "Target Practice" was re-recorded for the "Choke" EP. The sample at the end of "Target Practice" blends right into "Hartley" on the tape, so I made into 1 track.

1. Manthing (3:18)
2. Afterschool Special (3:08)
3. Target Practice/Hartley (9:42)

Total Playing Time (16:08)

Download :

Tuesday, October 21, 2008


This is the first demo from Chicago's MK-ULTRA (Bleading Ear Records No.1). The 8 songs are really noisy, thrashy, groovy, hardcore/punk. Great samples that actually serve as lyrics a lot of the time. Very simple, angular and noisy. This got a lot of play in my walkman and car stereo.

1. Seconds (3:14)
2. What Have You Got (2:06)
3. You Will Die (1:37)
4. Nevernever Land (2:42)
5. Ulcer (:30)
6. These Things I Believe (2:56)
7. Statues (7:20)
8. The Mountain Song (Crucifucks)(1:21)

Total Playing Time (21:51)

Download :